Festival season excitement

Hi everyone, sorry for the delay and my general laziness!  This week I’m getting very excitamundo because hopefully I’ll be booking the 15th-22nd of June off and booking my tickets to go to the SONAR festival in Barcelona!

Click here for the SONAR website.

While I’m there I’ll definitely have to do stylespotting every day – I can’t miss that opportunity!

So because of that It’s got me thinking about festival style in general..

Unfortunately for anyone going to a local festival, Ireland and England are both considered to have generally miz. and unpredictable weather so we have many more things to worry about fashion-wise.  Here are my 3 basic essentials for a local festival (eg. OXEGEN).

1. Wellies – seriously, do not kid yourself into thinking your converse will do.  You will get trenchfoot.

The fluoro-orange Hunter’s are gorgeous but £75 is a wee bit unrealistic.  Still, nice to drool over.  The unisex Dunlop’s on the right might not look like much but they are a classic wellie-boot, they keep your tootsies nice and dry and they’re only £11.99.

2. Good socks:  Get knee highs in various colours and thicknesses, you’ll thank me when everyone else is getting wellie-chaif on their calves from wearing bare legs.  Also they’re cosy and you can jazz up your Wellington’s with them!

O’Hanlon Mills boot socks (unisex one size fits all) available from URBAN OUTFITTERS for £5.oo.  Blue stripe socks, £5.00 from  ASOS.com.  Try folding the top of the sock over your wellies for extra comfort + so everyone can see your lovely socks :).

3. A raincoat:   Don’t go without a basic pack-a-mac! and also I’d advise you not to bring a big hefty coat as it’s a pain when you get into the sweaty arenas.  Thin layers are the way to go.  (annoyingly I can’t find anywhere selling them at the minute but I’ll find some soon).

So those are my 3 basic essentials, in the next few posts I’ll be looking at rucksacks, tents, make-up and festival fashion in past years.  Oh and what I hope to be wearing at SONAR in sunny Barcelona! Hope you enjoyed this one and if you have any questions let me know!

Nuala xo

Leave a Reply

