The crochet comeback

I know winter seems a long way off with our (crap, rainy) summer only just beginning.  However I’m already starting to get excited about winter fashion trends to come in 2011.

Both Christopher Kane and Henry Holland showcased a lot of crochet in their Autumn/Winter collections and to be honest, after seeing them I think I might get the old needles out myself.

HOUSE OF HOLLAND A/W 2011

I love these designs, the colours are very eccentric but I think we need a bit of fun in the wintertime to cheer us all up!  I’m so bored of the same old browns and blacks for A/W collections.

Apparently Holland found it really hard to actually source someone who could make his crochet designs as it’s such a dying art.  I want to start getting more crafty with making things and learn how to knit/sew/crochet.  Check out this blog – Attic24 for some cute inspiration.

Christopher Kane A/W 2011

Christopher Kane showcased a less extravagant, more sophisticated take on crochet.  I love the way he has printed crochet imagery onto the leather jacket and the little gel pouches on the dress (remember having pencil cases like that in primary school and thinking you were class?).

During my crochet research I also noticed that http://www.ETSY.com sells some crochet patterns from the 70’s:

aren’t they gorge!

Funny enough, I’m pretty de-sensitized to crocheted things lying about the house as we have a family friend who knits us all enormous blankets every now and then. (my blanket shown below).

My little sister modelling her blanket.

and l’il bro modelling his (he’s a bit camera shy sometimes)

All of a sudden I’m starting to look at these blankets in a different light.  They aren’t just things that I throw over my bed to hide all the mess anymore, they’re actually stylish thanks to Henry Holland and Christopher Kane.

So chums, I hope I’ve inspired you to break out the needles and give your grannies a ring as I think this is going to be one of the biggest trends next season.  Failing that, I’ll obviously keep an eye out for crochet items popping up on the high street.  I’ve already snapped up this beaut top from TOPSHOP:

There are matching shorts too but I’m determined to try to make my own!

Nuala xo

2 comments

  1. katie

    Love this post nuala! HH crochet playsuit is so cutsie! Also lol’d at the part about the pencil case,totally had a bag like that, blue and see-through. So class hahaha

  2. Pingback: Barcelona: What I’m packing « belfash

Leave a Reply

