Ibiza: Moments in Love

Ibiza: Moments in love

Looking at photos of people partying gives me the same tingly happy feeling you get when you hear -that-song-you-heard-the-other-night-when-everyone-was-going-mental.  Good party photography will capture a moment of pure freedom from the daily grind; the let-your-hair-down joy that comes with clubbing.  No worries; just music, and smiles, and dancing, and sitting at the back having  heart felt conversations with someone you’ve only just met -what’s your name again?-

The Ibiza: Moments in Love exhibition at the Institute of Contemporary Arts is a time portal into the island Ibiza once was:

SAM_0876 SAM_0878 SAM_0875The first thing that really strikes me about these photographs is the people’s style; care free and costume-like.  I would love to rock up to a club with my tatas out and a bit of silver paint on the nips.  And why shouldn’t I.  (Pass the silver paint)

As well as these photographs the exhibition contains past artefacts; magazines, posters, signed tickets, mix tapes etc.  I’m glad to say that I have a shoe box in my room that is absolutely full to the brim with my own collection of similar items.  I keep everything.  I’m going to have to get a bigger box soon.

SAM_0873SAM_0885 SAM_0882 SAM_0881 SAM_0880

SAM_0872 SAM_0877 SAM_0871

All photos above were taken by me at the Ibiza: Moments in Love Exhibition.  It’s on until the 2nd of Feb so if you’re in London go down and check it out http://www.ica.org.uk/whats-on/ibiza-moments-love.  The photographs featured are a set of previously unpublished pictures by the British photographer Derek Ridgers taken at Ku in 1984.

Nuala xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

